Wednesday, January 19, 2011

Joe Derrane is the Irish Echo’s top traditional artist of 2010

"Since 1993, the Irish Echo has honored these 16 musicians — and two radio hosts — with its highest annual accolade, “Traditional Artist of the Year”: Charlie Lennon, James Keane, Joe Derrane, Seamus Egan, Joanie Madden, John Whelan, Mick Moloney, Liz Carroll, Kevin Crawford, Seamus Connolly, Mike Rafferty, Andy McGann (posthumous), Monsignor Charlie Coen, WFUV-FM’s Kathleen Biggins and WGBH-FM’s Brian O’Donovan (co-recipients for 2006), Micheal O Suilleabhain, Brian Conway, and John Doyle.
Boston-born button accordionist and composer Joe Derrane now becomes the first to receive this most coveted award twice."

No comments: